Governance Working Group

The Governance Working Group provided focused attention and work on Institutional policies and processes, and procedures including: Indigenous faculty and staff; representation in leadership and governing structures; partnerships; finance; land use; and convocation. 

Areas of Focus

  • Institutional relationships

  • Representation in governance structures

  • Hiring practices and policies

  • Guidelines for remuneration

  • Representation in convocation


  • Emma Anderson, Undergraduate Student

  • Laurie Arnott, Assistant Vice-President (Faculty and Academic Staff Relations) 

  • Ben Bradshaw, Assistant Vice-President (Graduate Studies) 

  • Genevieve Gauthier-Chalifour, University Secretary 

  • Martha Harley, Associate Vice-President (Human Resources) 

  • Lori Kimball, Associate Vice-President (Financial Services) 

  • Ian Newby-Clark, Director, First-Year Seminars Program & Chair, Senate Priorities and Planning Committee  

  • Jennifer Parkinson, President, Grand River Métis Council  

  • Cara Wehkamp, Special Advisor to the President on Indigenous Initiatives

Support: Anna Johnson, Graduate Research Assistant 

Terms of Reference